• Welcome to National Industrial Court of Nigeria
  • |

News Details

  • Industrial Court [Breaking] Senate confirms Justice Kanyip as President National Industrial Court
    2019-11-05 00:00:00

    [Breaking] Senate confirms Justice Kanyip as President National Industrial Court


    The Senate has confirmed the nomination of His Lordship, Hon. Justice Benedict Kanyip as the President of the National Industrial Court of Nigeria today Tuesday 5th November 2019.

    The lawmakers also confirmed the nomination of Hon. Justice John Tsoho as the Chief Judge of the Federal High Court.

    Recently, President Muhammadu Buhari, following the recommendation of the National Judicial Council (NJC), forwarded the name of Justice Kanyip to the senate for confirmation as substantive president of the National Industrial Court.

    Hon. Justice Kanyip was on 2nd October 2019 sworn in by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Hon. Justice Tanko Muhammad, in an acting capacity following the retirement of Justice Babatunde Adejumo who attained the retirement age of 65 years on 1st October 2019.


    Today's confirmations were sequel to separate presentations of the report of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters.


    The chairman of the committee, Senator Micheal Opeyemi Bamidele, while presenting the report said His Lordship, Hon. Justice Benedict Kanyip possesses a wide range of experience and the requisite qualities to run the Court.


    The National Industrial Court has exclusive jurisdiction on civil causes and matters relating to or connected with any labour, employment, trade unions, industrial relations and matters arising from workplace, the conditions of service,  including health, safety, welfare of labour, employee, worker and matters incidental thereto or connected therewith;



    Relating to, connected with or arising from Factories Act, Trade Disputes Act, Trade Unions Act, Labour Act, Employees' Compensation Act or any other Act or Law relating to labour, employment, Industrial relations, workplace or any other enactment replacing the Acts or Laws; etc



    The Senate President, Distinguished Senator Ahmad Lawan, congratulated the nominees and wished them the best of tenure.